Women in my life

Hi everyone! Today I would love to wish to all women on earth Happy International Women’s Day! Whether you are a working mommy, still studying , happily (or not) retired, working at home, not working….I hope we all will have a successful future and a happy life! I really believe that we should celebrate IWD more than Valentine’s Day because guys, your girl is first of all a woman, before becoming a girlfriend, a mum, a grandma, a bossy boss or anything.

Well, in this post I will make my top 10 women that in some sort of way has inspired me till today. They are not in orders…it’s just my 10 favorite women of all time..Enjoy!

P/S : I would love to know yours, don’t forget to leave a comment! :)

Jane Eyre

Jane Eyre Charlotte Bronte

I’m sure a lot of you know her. She is the heroine of Charlotte Brontë’s novel of the same name. I first get to know this character when I watched a Jane Eyre film (there’s quite a number you right?) when I was….8 maybe. She has becoming one of my favourite woman character ever since. She is reliable (helping Mr. Rochester when he’s in trouble) and full of kindness (forgiving Aunt Reed eventhough she mistreated her). Eventhough she has a difficult life and love story, I am glad she end up living happily ever after with his beau.

Adele

adele

Hum, does anyone really need an explaination for these? She has THE voice and she doesn’t need to be sexy or trashy to find her glory. And gosh, 6 Grammys is a solid proof.

Irina Bokova

Irina Bokova UNESCO

Mme Bokova is the present Director-General of Unesco (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization). She is originally from Bulgaria and has been actively in politics since the 70’s. Despite some critics of her participation in Communist Party in Bulgaria, she is the first woman to head UNESCO, the world agency of promoting international collaboration through education, science, and culture. How cool (and hard) is that?

Stella McCartney

Another great woman who needs no introduction, Stella McCartney is a role model for me. She’s not only a successful fashion designer, but also mum to 4 and devoted no-leather-no-fur believer. I really respect her strong ethical philosophy that some people thought will be a building block, but Stella successfully turn this around and make a lot of creative effort instead. OK, her pieces is not for everyone bank account, but they makes you really proud of yourself owning them. Start saving my money now!

GLEE girls

Glee girls

They can sing, they can dance!! these fictional characters just popped into my life a few years ago, and thank God for that. I might not have such dramatic high school life as them but watching them on TV is just relaxing (they made me sing Britney again..humm). But more seriously, they do teach me to have a passion, like French philosopher Denis Diedrot said “Only passions, great passions, can elevate the soul to great things.”

Dr. Zeti Akhtar Aziz

Dr Zeti Akhtar Aziz is Malaysian current governer of central bank. She began her career as an economic analyst before going into goverment’s institutional bodies. Not only she is the first woman to hold this position in Malaysia, she was also choosen to participate in various international think tank for economy and appointed as world’s best central bank chief in 2009. Bloomberg columnist William Pesek also short-listed her as one of his four nominees to head the prestigious IMF (International Monetary Fund) following the vacancy after Dominique Strauss-Kahn affair. What a beautiful career she has!

Florence Welch

This lady is one beautiful creative person on earth. She has such a powerful yet sensibile voice that gives me chills every single time I listen to her. Of course, we can never have enough of her red locks and she rocks mixed-prints like nobody else. She just inspires me to be brave and bold, to stick to what you love the most and stands out among a sea of people.

Michelle Obama

The First Lady of The United States is almost the perfect person on earth. Her multitasking skills deserves admiration and respect. Of course she has a number of people working for her now but she came from a normal family (dad was an employee at city water plant and mum is secretary). Not only she’s the First Lady, she also has become a fashion icon (read Jenna Lyons from J.Crew talks about her here) and actively promoting poverty awareness, nutrition and healthy eating. Hope Kate M. and Carla B.S will follow her stellar step.

Natalie Massenet

Ex fashion editor at Tatler and Woman’s Wear Daily, she is my fashion business moghul. I think I am not the only person who thank her for her genius idea of bringing luxury stuff all around the world. Eventhough she sold her share of Net-a-Porter to Richmont Group, she still is the head of the company. Check out her style file here at Vogue.

10° Mum and grandma

Of course, my whole heart is out to two of the most important women in my life, my mum and my grandma. I can’t express enough gratitude and love to these two women, being there for me. Hugs and kisses.

I think the list is long, Marissa Mayer from Google, Diane Von Furstenberg, Queen Rania of Jordan, Angelina Jolie, Anne Sinclair (the wife of Dominique Strauss-Kahn for her courage in times of crisis),Anne LauvergeonGarance Doré , Frida Giannini, Anne-Sopie Pic and others that I might forget.

My two wishes for this year is first, for the world to stop mistreating women, such as in human trafficking and prostitution as well as massive massacre and rape and secondly, more woman in scientific area (see Association of Women in Science here).I know I have a still have a long journey but I really hope I can contribute to making these two ambitions come true. Have a great day and don’t forget to take a tour here, the official website of International Women’s Day.

Take care. Love.

Leave a Reply

