Mercato di Sant’Ambrogio, Firenze

If you’ve been following this blog, I am sure that you already know about my liking to food market. When I was in London, I went to Borough Market and when I was in Barcelona, the Boqueria Market was on the top of my to-do list!

Of course, when I was in Firenze last two weeks, I wouldn’t ever miss my foodie call and looked for food market to visit. The most famous market in Firenze is Mercato Centrale but it was quite far from where I lived. Since I had only one hour or so to kill before my departure, I opted for the second famous market in Firenze, Mercato di Sant’Ambrogio. It was only a few minutes walk and from what I read online, it is certainly smaller than Mercato Centrale but no less interesting. Plus, it is way more touristy than Mercato Centrale.

mercato sant'ambrogio | myfavoritelist

The market is open everyday except Sunday and is divided into two area, indoor and outdoor. In the indoor area, you can find mostly food and a few stalls where you can sit and eat. As expected, you can find most of italian products such as salami, cheese, dried tomatoes and homemade pastas. In the outdoor area, you can find vegetables and fruits as well as second-hand clothes.

mercato sant'ambrogio | myfavoritelist

mercato sant'ambrogio | myfavoritelist

mercato sant'ambrogio | myfavoritelist

All the fresh products are really appealing, visually and gustatively. The various choices available really change my perception and understanding on italian food (by the way, according to Elizabeth David in her book Italian Food, this designation is quite nonsense as food tradition in Italy is more local and regional than whole as a country).

mercato sant'ambrogio | myfavoritelist

mercato sant'ambrogio | myfavoritelist

Eventhough the visit was quick, it has motivated me to learn and read more about italian food. Starting from now I am trying not to just limiting my food experience to pizzas and pastas. There is definitely countless recipes to try out there. Have you been to any food market in Italy?

Leave a Reply

