Visit : Jardin des Géants, Lille

Last Sunday after a short summer sales spree I decided to walk back home. It was a very unusual decision of me but I am glad I did. On my way home, I passed by a public garden, Jardin des Géants and even though my feet were killing me I stopped by anyway just to take a stroll and relax for a while.

jardin des geants | myfavoritelist

I find the garden very unique. It combines an urban style sculptures (giant’s head, hence the name of the garden) and nature elements. The giants actually represent the traditional northern France and Belgium folklores, les Geants du Nord or Reuze in Flamish. This character is a heritage from the medieval tradition where the giants are taken to the street for special occasions such as during carnaval or kermesse.

jardin des geants | myfavoritelist

jardin des geants | myfavoritelist

jardin des geants | myfavoritelist

jardin des geants | myfavoritelist

So in love with the different splashes of colours of the flowers and plants

jardin des geants | myfavoritelist

jardin des geants | myfavoritelist

jardin des geants | myfavoritelist

The garden was not that big but it was just enough for the neighbourhood. There were family with kids, group of friends doing picnic and a few person just chilling and reading. There is a café at the entrance of the garden but I haven’t had the chance to try yet.

le jardin des geants | myfavoritelist

Yellow and violet are the colours of summer! So inspiring

le jardin des geants | myfavoritelist

le jardin des geants | myfavoritelist

le jardin des geants | myfavoritelist

le jardin des geants | myfavoritelist

It really is a great place to unwind, a true refuge from the city. I would definitely love to see more beautiful gardens like this in Lille.

Hope you enjoyed the post! Till next time!

Love, Ann

One thought on “Visit : Jardin des Géants, Lille

Leave a Reply

